"Daddy of the GW's"

Classed as About Good. Shank broken.

Dated from 1776, this appears to be a Geo. III "Long Live the King" button.

Harold states that it was excavated from the buried walls of Old Stone House of Gowanus. Battle of Long Island and refers to issues of "Just Buttons" of 1943 and 1945 for explanation as to how it got this name.

Purchased in 1958 from Ritter (Waterbury Companies, Inc. Museum).